IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Places where I've been.

My holiday to Malta might be over, but that doesn't stop me from thinking about my next trip, but before I plan the future, I wanted to pause for a moment and think back to all the places I had been in recent years.

Malta, Japan, USA (Hawaii, Grand Canyon), Italy (Rome, Venice, Lake Garda), Portugal, Canary Islands (Lanzarote, Gran Canaria), Bali, Croatia, Germany, Austria, Greece (Crete) and Mexico.

My very favourite was to Bali. It was also one of the cheapest. As soon as we stepped off the plane, we experienced the heat, but it was pleasant .... the sort of feeling when you sink into a nice warm bath after a hard days work ... just perfect. The tropical feel was superb. Birds singing, people singing. The fact that we felt like millionaires with just a few pounds in our pocket. Bali was easily the best.

I remember hiring a car and driving all over the island. Forget any driving experience you have ever had in the past, Bali is something else. The people are nuts! They have absolutely no concept of safety or fear. They are mostly Hindus and would not harm a fly (since it was probably their grandfather in a previous existence), however, they did not seem to worry about dying either (but I sure did!) They would all drive through red lights or unmarked crossings, or, at random, all stop and get out their cars for no apparent reason (I later discovered that they were getting out to offer up food presents to the gods).

The Bali people are the most generous people on earth, despite their poverty. They are so humble and helpful. At first, I distrusted them (I am a cynic by nature), but what they say, they mean. For example, when they stop you (as they do) at every street corner and engage you in conversation, they are not trying to con you out of money, but are genuinely concerned for your welfare and want to help you in any way they can (the better they are in this life will determine where and what they will be in the next), and in the short term ... they want to practice their English. Most Bali people cannot afford a proper schooling, and have never been off of the island. They view continents like Europe as rich heavens. They consider tourists to be rich, since they themselves will never be able to save more than perhaps £50 in their lifetime. English skills are in demand on the island. The better your English, the better job you get and the more money you can earn. Most want to leave the island.

When I told them that it rains and snows for so long in the UK, they got a bit worried .... the weather in Bali is pretty much the same all year round. The image I painted for them did not quite match up to their idea of that little bit of heaven they thought it was.

I consider them to be rich. They don't have two pennies to rub together, but they have everything they need in life. Strong family relationships. Community. Religion. Food. Nature. The basic building blocks of life.

One perfect memory is of us sleeping overnight by the sea. In the evening, we had a massage by the beach and then ate fish by an open fire, before just lying back and gazing at the stars. It gets dark at 6pm and the skies are crystal clear. Even at midnight it was warm and t-shirt weather.The next day, we got up at 5.30am, walked a few yards to the rowing boat/canoe and were paddled by our guide out onto the tropical waters. I touched the water ... it was very pleasantly warm (at 5.30 in the morning!). Within minutes we were surrounded by hundreds of dolphins. Later we snorkelled over the coral reefs and experienced beautiful fish in every colour of the rainbow.

Every person in Bali can do this sort of thing for free, every day.

I will never forget Bali. The only place that comes close to it is Japan (in my experience). Perhaps I just like Asian countries, but I think it has more to do with the climate and the people.

My least favourite place? Mexico, followed by the USA. Hawaii and the Grand Canyon was expensive and a big disappointment.

What about you? What has been your favourite destination and your worst ... and why?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.