During a pause in the rain

Stayed in Fidelis today, as there was nothing important to do in the city today, and we will need to be in Auckland tomorrow and Friday. As I completed the Guardian Cryptic (an enjoyable puzzle set by Nutmeg), I heard the recycling truck coming down the street. Decided fairly much at the last minute (or five, anyway) that I would put our bin out despite it being less than half full. It's only collected fortnightly and even though it is a big bin ..... As I came back from putting it out I looked down the side of the house. and was taken by the image provided by rain drops on one of the roses in the garden between the fence and the side path.

Not long afterwards, I decided to ring Ubertec, after having discovered this morning that I can no longer open any document created in Pages, nor any spreadsheet created in Numbers. I didn't investigate Keynote. Karen at Ubertec was initially helpful, but the simple measures didn't work, so she advised accessing Apple Help. I did so and was helped by a very pleasant chap in Melbourne (has a US or Canadian accent), and for somewhat over two hours we tried everything he knew to resolve it.

It seems that when I copied the old MacBook onto the new one, a defunct set of programmes also came across , and presently I don't have enough memory on the hard disk to download the updates, in part because of the presence of the old ones. (By this stage I am totally lost and just doing what I'm asked to do). Although the process was unsuccessful he has proposed a way forward which I will look into when I have the time (and concentration) to do. He is a great advertisement for how helpful Apple is for people like me, even if there was no resolution.

The early afternoon was a retreat to a cheese toastie lunch and then quiet reading until I decided to chance the changeable weather. Once again the superstition was reinforced. I strapped on the water resistant camera bag, and was not rained on. The birds (overall) were more sensible than the humans; although to be fair, there were only two others I saw, one whom features in my extra for today. And I saw three oystercatchers; I was impressed by the speed they achieved around the point when riding the tail wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.