stuartjross

By stuartjross

Bleating

I could here this bleating coming from the undergrowth near where I was working and I got a glimpse of this baby deer.
I continued with the survey working away from the point of the sighting. Hours later I came back past the spot and the wee deer was still bleating as though looking for Mum. I thought they would have reunited and been on their way by this time. I made the mistake of speaking to it and it came towards me as though looking for comfort. I didn't want to put my scent on it and stepped back.

When I regained high ground and phone signal I called the game keeper and he took my concerns seriously and was going to look out later. He took my description of the extended bleating with concern explaining that the mother would normally respond immediately to the call.
 
I hope there is a happy reunion.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.