Recorder Walk

Today marked a Covid personal milestone in that I set out early to walk to my first face to face lesson with my tutor Fiona since lockdown began.  It was such a beautiful morning that I decided to record my recorder walk.  It's four miles of pretty, sun dappled woodland; country lanes; a babbling beck at the ford; a quiet canal towpath populated with ducklings, goslings and cygnets; colourful narrow boats and an iconic Victorian mill currently being used as the location for the new film of the Railway Children.

En route I paused to chat to a lady who was patiently waiting for her friendly robin to arrive on the tree stump for the seed she had scattered.  My next chat was with members of the Canal and Riverside Trust who were refreshing the paintwork on the lock at Dowley Gap.  Apparently, the charge for a colour photo bound for social media is £37.50, thankfully I had left my wallet at home!  Finally I stopped to ask one of the security folks at the Mill which film was being shot as I couldn't make the US flag at the porter's office fit Gentleman Jack.  It seems the Railway Children has been moved from Edwardian times to the Second World War.

Long story short, I had my lesson on the edge of a football field which was once the quarry for the stone for the World Heritage village of Saltaire.  I focused on the buttercups as I tried to catch that elusive lower F........

So which blip to choose from my recorder walk.....my favourite wall at Beckfoot Ford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.