fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Tube!

Did everyone else - at least those of you in London - know that these new tube trains were coming? Stepping onto one at Euston Square today was quite a shock!

Basically, the trains now are, actually, tubes :-)

Where the carriages used to end, there's now a joining section, like on the bendy buses. Consequently, and also due to something clever with the design (seats more flush with the wall?), the trains seem far more spacious, even the busy one I was on today. And as soon as I get on one when it's quiet, I'm going to walk from end to end. Now I've written that it seems rather sad... I do have a full life, honest!

I wonder whether, in the future, people might think that the phrase "taking the tube" arose from the trains themselves and not from the tunnels? And I also wonder why I wonder things like that. Probably because I'm avoiding getting on with some work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.