Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hiding...

Thank you for the rather overwhelming response to yesterday's favorite rodent! Apparently I am in the majority in finding them ever so cute and totally photogenic. They were distracted by some corn I put in the woods today, so you'll have to be content with just a peek at a downy woodpecker instead.

I got some very good close ups today, including Madame Cardinal, ignoring the Mister and a funny shot of a rather bad landing by Mrs. Hairy WP but this is the shot that I liked best. It perfectly illustrates the classic downy woodpecker behavior of "hiding" on the other side of the trunk or branch. Honestly, like you can't see her? Anyway, I think it's cute.

So, big news from the Vatican today. Habemus Papam! I must confess that I turned the TV on to watch for a half hour, not something I ever do in the daytime. I am not a Catholic, but I married into an Italian (hence Catholic) family so I was naturally curious to see how the Conclave would turn out and who would be named Pope. I hope that he is able to repair some of the damage the Church has incurred in recent years .. and that his stance with anyone involved in the sex scandals is harsh and swift.

The curry didn't turn out as well as I would have liked last night. Wasn't spicy enough and I personally thought the curry powder mix was a bit too sweet. I think I need to mix my own spices for the curry, rather than buying it. But it was a good venture into a new type of cooking and I'm keen to try more. A couple of you were kind enough to give me recipes which I'm eager to try - stay tuned!

Thank you again for the comments, hearts, and stars yesterday - I'll get caught up on comments in the next few days.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.