Pining for a new home

Dullish kind of day today, until now, at 5.45, when the sun has come out!

I went round to a local man's house this afternoon to try to give him some ideas for some land which he bought beside his house. I think I persuaded him to plant it up with native trees and shrubs, with an open piece in the centre where he could plant native woodland flowers, but when he introduced me to his partner she said she wanted a garden! He replied that he didn't want any more maintenence, so I came away leaving him with the idea of planting a low-maintenance woodland garden!

Later this afternoon I decided that I should replant my Wollemi Pine, which I'd repotted after it had been savaged and pulled up - twice - by deer. It's growing a new tip so I hope it will recover its lost beauty! This is an amazing tree. The species was only known from fossils, but was discovered growing in a deep gorge just 60 miles from Sydney, Australia in 1994! Unbelievable! They're being grown all around the temperate world now. See them here at Wakehurst Place - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2848994426812893624

I hope that one day mine will grow out of the company of its fellow shrubs and be seen against the sky!

Quote of the Day:

Khalil Gibran - “Trees are poems that the earth writes upon the sky.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.