Early Evening

The light on the Nepeta drew me outside with my camera to capture a late Blipfoto image.  It was one of those rare summer evenings where the temperature is positively balmy and I sat outside to finish my drink and as I did so a bird of prey semi-landed on the very tip of a tree in next doors garden.  Initially I thought Kestrel because of the way it hovered (but we don’t see many around here) and then numbers 2 and 3 and 4 appeared in the sky in quick succession and I wondered if this was a sparrow-hawk family that had just fledged.  Meanwhile the Jackdaws and crows were going barmy in the trees up the lane but then that’s fairly normal at the moment.  There’s a flock of 20+ jackdaws now and there seems to be a lot of strife going on with other corvids.  The peace and quiet returned and I remembered the summer evenings where our little group of residents would have gathered together over drinks in our seating area at the top corner of the garden.  Now all gone!

So what else did I do?  Dentist in the morning, when I was given another clean bill of tooth health.  Merv came and dug me the remains of a plant out of one of the beds.  I made a start in emptying plant pots and then filling them with some of the Cosmos plants I’ve grown, which unfortunately are getting a bit tall and straggly.  I’ve been pinching out tops as I go so it will take them a little while to get going again.  I’d also forgotten what hard work it can be, so I had to give up and have lunch and then put my foot up.  Later a video call with GG about her trip to Leeds and how successful it had been photographically.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.