Life through the lens...

By ValC

Lilies.

Writing the title I couldn’t help thinking of the song by Lonnie Donegan.
My Old Man’s a Dustman,  and the verse:
“ My dustbin’s full of lilies
Well, throw ‘em away then!
I can’t Lily’s wearing them.”
Sorry but it always made me laugh!
( You have to be a certain age to remember this)

Anyhow back to the lilies in question.
I bought these at gardens we visited on Wednesday.
“ Lilium formosanum”
The Taiwanese Lily.  Strong stems that bear very fragrant, white trumpet flowers with pinkish throats.  Suitable for pots. Move into a shed to store over winter.
Sounds lovely, but I actually like the dainty leaves and buds. However it will be interesting to see what the flowers are like when they open.
Allison was delighted with hers too.

A rather hectic day which started at 8 am with a visit from British Gas.
I think I mentioned a few weeks ago that our electric meter packed up, and we needed a new one.
Well of course it had to be a Smart Meter.
So let’s hope it all works smoothly from now on, as they had also to change the gas meter too.

He had almost finished when another van drew up, and delivered our new swing seat.
The lovely driver and his daughter put it up for us, and must say I love it!
Have already sat on it with my after lunch coffee.
All the washing now done, and the last lot out in the line. Certainly a good drying day.
Next a visit to the farm shop, and now about to go outside again to sit on the seat with a cuppa.
It has arrived just in time for the weekend heatwave!

We have had such a lovely time away, but always nice to be back home, especially when the weather is good.
Hope you all have a good weekend too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.