Drifting By

Sometimes I take a shot by instinct without really stopping to consider its potential and even though subsequently attempting to improve, the composition for instance, the original remains the most interesting. This can be frustrating, because I don't necessarily know why it was successful or what the shot is about.

I find this happens with longer focal lengths, I think because I find scenes not seen by naked eye since they are further away.

In this case (making an assessment after the fact), the kayaker obviously attracts a lot of attention, being dark against light, and innately human. But the shape echoes the foreground log, asking the eye to move, and the only thing in focus are the right-hand reeds, the three forming a triangle.

Emotionally, it reflects lazy summer days, heat, bobbing gently along, escaping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.