Clifton Suspension Bridge

I left the campsite today but before I went home I drove the short distance to Clifton Bridge which crosses the Avon Gorge.

The bridge was designed by great Victorian engineer, Isambard Kingdom Brunel. He was assigned to the project when he was just 24 years old after winning a competition. When he designed it it would have been the highest and widest suspension bridge in the world. Many said it couldn’t be done. However it took 33 years to build and sadly Brunel died 5 years prior and so never saw it finished and in use. Today it one of the most recognisable attractions of Bristol.

As well as walking over the bridge, I went to the visitors centre, the Clifton Observatory (from where I took this picture), and spent a short time wandering around a couple of Clifton Village streets. I will definitely have to come back - it’s a beautiful area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.