Lockdown Day 42 - Rhubarb!

I have a neighbour who grows rhubarb on her allotment. She has kindly shared some with me a few times. She’s in the over-70s group so she’s ‘shielding’, but she IS allowed to go to her allotment as well as get exercise. I believe her daughter is helping her with shopping but I’ve been buying eggs for her as I know she likes the ones from the egg farm which is where I buy mine. It’s no trouble and I do it without any need for ‘payback’ but I do happily accept her offer of a few sticks of rhubarb!

Today I cooked up some with some strawberries which desperately needed to be used, and then I spread out the rest ready to be frozen before bagging up. I hope that works. The last time I froze rhubarb (without laying them on a tray first), they ended up as a watery mess. I had the rhubarb/strawberry combination over ice cream in the evening and that was delicious!

It’s been an up and down day emotionally. Still hard to believe that my friend Rhod is gone. I’m enjoying some lovely memories, but boy, will I miss him!! I’ve received some caring messages from lots of friends and here on blip as well. Thank you, everyone! Overwhelmed with kindness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.