Rodents rule

By squirk

Clinging to safety

Juno alerted me to the first damselfly visiting the pond, by chasing it. He didn't manage to catch it, thank goodness, and I watched it fly to the pond and start laying eggs. The reason I planted the tall-stemmed plants was for such an event, so I'm very chuffed. According to the British Dragonfly Society website, it's a large red damselfly

The day started early with a walk to Streatham Rookery in the sun. In work breaks, I sat on the bench and started (and finished!) reading Fire, Bed & Bone by Henrietta Branford, one of the books that's been sitting on my shelf for a long time. An excellent read for kids – I'll pop it in the local book box next time I'm passing.

In the evening, friends invited us round to their garden for pizza. I made a Jumbleberry tart that almost didn't cook and set in time, but I got away with it. I forgot the adding of the apricot jam at the end – it's still sitting in its cup of not-hot-anymore water waiting for action.

We ate and chatted until gone dark. It was a lovely catch-up and so nice to see the garden in a different season. All the plants have sprung up since we were last there.

Happy weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.