Windy

My Guardian Weather Angel slept in this morning and was sadly absent when I made the mistake of being fooled by early sunshine to venture a walk round the Ness, only to be assailed by rain which by felt like slingshot propelled by a viscous wind. I imagine the Orcadians describe the latter as a stiff breeze while to me a ‘sooth moother’ it felt like a hoolie.
Not for giving up, I persevered but had to put my jacket and breeks into the drier when I got back.

Later I got a lift into Kirkwall and Lolz Café from my landlady in order to use my season ticket there which had been gifted to me on the occasion of my big birthday by the inhabitants of Creel Cottage but which I hadn’t managed to use last year because of Covid. The raspberry muffin slipped over deliciously and has used up all my daily calories.

As is the case when one is on one’s own, conversations are struck up with perfect strangers and I had a jolly conversation with a local whilst I munched.
I felt sufficiently energised to make a careful inspection of Shearer’s Store, the Kirkwall answer to a huge ‘Johnny Aw Thing’. In transversing through the shop one transitions from bread and cakes , kitchen ware to wheelbarrows, ironmongery before ending up with seed potatoes and all things horticultural. I could easily spend a morning within its portals. See extra

Needless to say now that my GA is back on duty, the weather has come good and the sun is shining. This was not the case when I blipped the Shags’ convention at the end of the nearby disused pier this morning. At least, not being a ‘birdie’ I think the birds are shags. No doubt someone will put me right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.