Creel Sunday

Another day of two halves weatherise. I managed a lovely early morning walk round the Stromness environs seeing not one other soul but accompanied by the pleeping of oyster catchers and redshanks warning me away from their nests. I had a one sided conversation with Blipper Happy Valley’s three horses in a field as I passed.
Towards the end of the walk I was struck by this stone formation on the shore near the Ness, which is today’s blip.

I was entertained royally at Creel cottage for Sunday lunch and watched out of the window as the mist and rain blew in from Scapa Flow blotting out the wonderful 180° sea view.
There was so much culinary feasting and imbibing that it was a case of ‘carry me out but don’t bend me’ as I was ushered into the front seat of their car for the journey back to Stromness- note, the front seat not the back seat to which I was relegated by my family on the way up to Orkney.

It’s definitely the weather for an evening indoors with the baffies and the knitting.

My extra is ‘Mine Host’ in characteristic pose

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.