Blowing a Hoolie

I’ve been very lucky with not getting a soaking on my outings today. One minute the view is of sunny buttercupped meadows slipping down to the shoreline and a blue sea laced with white horses and then suddenly a heavy curtain of mist and rain blows over blotting everything out. In an instant the day has changed completely until as suddenly as before, it passes and summer skies are restored.

In a west wind of 27mph, I braved the elements to walk round the Ness. Hamnavoe was sheltered from the wind but at the point of Ness it was hard to stand still to take a photograph.

I’m obsessed with the Northlink ferry arrivals and departures- I know not why but I like to see the boat making its way in and out of Stromness safely at the appointed times. This afternoon , despite the raging seas, I saw it from the coastal path as it rounded Hoy on time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.