If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Orchid bud.

I have to admit haven't  sat down and tried to identify these.   I think they may be either Common Spotted or Heath Spotted.  However like the indoor orchids the UK hardy orchids hybridise.  They have appeared in the garden, well in containers in the garden all by themselves.  Last year one container which this year is going to have 6 flowers.  This year there is another container which will have 2 flowers.  I wonder where they will pop up next.
 
I am not looking forward to the next 5 or 6 weeks.   From Monday the main road into the village is going to be closed, so that a development which is going to be built can be connected to the main sewer.  If we follow the sign posted detour this will add 3 miles to our 5 mile run into town.  The alternatives are single track roads.  Reading the article in the local paper there would be space for cars to pass but not HGVs.  Why they don't put traffic light and ban HGVs I don;t know.  Too sensible I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.