secret garden

By freespiral

A big day out

Back blipping after a very big day! I was on the ferry and off to Long Island at 10am this morning ( a bracing 5 minute crossing) for a wildflower walk lead by my pal Finola. It was organised by Tracy and Peter who've just opened Wild Island Camping. Two year ago they sold their narrow boat in the English midlands, saw a house on Long Island, bought it there and then and have now renovated the homestead, brought the garden to life and are starting off a campsite  - you can bring your own tent to hire one and Tracy makes food. I had the honour of being the first person to use the compost toilet! After coffee and homemade biscuits Finola lead us off. Long Island is small and yes, long, once home to 300 people but now it has only 10 permanent residents.  Today the sun shone and it all felt prosperous and buoyant, homes being renovated and other visitors about. All houses are built to the same design and were built by the Congested District Board, I think in the 1920s, in an effort sponsored by the Government to improved housing. They are very evocative but many remain empty or ruinous.
The flowers were astonishing, the boreen (yes there is only one) shoulder high in a colourful assortment. We were lucky to have in our small group not only an expert in wildflowers, but an archaeologist, an ornithologist, an ecologist and a holy wellist!  And I met a fellow trespasser inquirer who lead me astray! We had a brilliant time. Probably the most unusual and exotic plant we saw was a yellow horned poppy, blooming happily on the shingle beach. One of the most uplifting sights  was lunch! Tracy delivered individual lunchboxes, each with our name on, to the pier - along with homemade lemonade - delicious!
No sooner had I got home than it was off out for supper with some friends. It was only when I got home that I realised how sunburnt I was! Puce in fact though my brother rather sweetly referred to it as sun-kissed! 
I've gone mad with the extras for it was all so incredible. When the sun shines there is no where like West Cork.

Finola has just done her blog on the walk. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.