Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hot, hot hot!

As expected, it was a hot one today. I went for a run in the woods with Xena, while Gavin went for a longer 15km run on his own. It was not as hot at 8.30am in the morning but I could see that Xena was finding it too hot and so I walked the last bit of my run with her as she was flagging. She is a dog that can run and run for miles, but she does get affected by the heat very easily. She lay around for the rest of the day.

My garden is looking better now that I have some summer flowers in bloom - I have added an extra of a poppy as I was very excited to see these bloom. The first one that came out was eaten off the stalk by a slug which was annoying, and it has also got into my lupins - but I found it and got rid of it.

Gavin and I had lunch out in the village, where I took this photo of the river looking lovely in the summer sunshine with the water lilies. After lunch Gavin took Xena for another short walk in the woods which are leafy and cooler, but she was still finding it too hot so he came home again. I then joined Gavin while he played a quick 9 holes of golf - I walked around taking photos of the bird life and lovely gardens, while he played. I saw herons, swans, geese, a few rabbits - it is a lovely golf course. Gavin was done in an hour and 15 minutes, but we did walk very quickly. I took a shot of Gavin, can you see the ball?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.