Ingleman

By Ingleman

Visitation

I was walking yesterday and was visited by a curious and very vocal Red Kite, who swooped and soared around me for over thirty minutes. It was a very special moment for me. But when I told my pal, Dave (Dave The Birdman) he wanted a piece of the action. We met at 08:00am this morning and followed the same route I walked yesterday. And, upon  approaching the small copse of trees where I previously saw Kitey McKiteface I was really chuffed to hear the keening call of Kitey, perched on a dead tree about a quarter of a mile away. As soon as he saw us, in he came. First swooping in to check us out and then gliding gracefully across the warm air above our heads. It was mesmerising, and he waited while we took loads of photographs, and eventually went back to his perch where he was joined by another Kite, presumably a mate.
Me, huge smile and Dave muttering expletives under his breath. Disbelieving what had just happened. Happy days.

My picture is an amateur attempt at montage with three images of the same individual blended to capture his various poses. I am not concerned that the pictures are only average, it was the experience that counts. It was brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.