The second half of life..

By twigs

Utter crap!

That's how I felt from mid afternoon today...

I started a 5 day detox programme yesterday. I've done one before although couldn't quite bring myself to cut coffee completely out so cut back to just one single shot per day. Since then I've only been having one double shot a day with the occasional splurge to a second cup if I'm out somewhere. This time I've decided to cut coffee completely for 5 days and this morning heralded the end of the first 24 hours of caffeine-free living. I wasn't surprised to find the beginnings of a headache!

I spent the morning marking here at home. I had intended going in to school to do it where I could remove myself from the many distractions of being at home but in the end, the home base won out! My house is not a particulalry warm house, so when I started to feel a bit cool I thought nothing of it - just put on an extra layer and carried on.

Went to lunch with some friends, still wearing my extra layer and was surprised to find them all wearing almost summery clothes! Hmmmm - something's not quite right! Because of my detox I had to choose lunch very carefully and opted for the salad with the most fresh veges in it, although it also had some chicken and a bit of dressing. I asked for a half portion.

Got home after lunch and decided to call a friend before settling back into the marking. It turns out she was laid up in bed asleep having undergone some acupuncture to relieve pain in a strained back the day before. Talked to her partner for a short while then hung up. By this time I was feeling just a bit tired myself so I lay down on the sofa for a bit of a nap.

I awoke almost 2 hours later feeling cold and shivery, nauseous and very headachy. Within minutes I'd vomited. The rest of the afternoon felt like utter crap - tired, shivery, headchy, nauseous. I headed to bed late afternoon but was woken by another vomit attack. I crawled around the house until mid-evening then headed to bed, but not before being sick yet again.

This shot represents one of only two I managed between bouts of nausea - an utterly crap picture for an utterly crap day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.