Unusable this evening

It feels like Auckland is developing a rainy season. My memory is that a year ago (more or less) most days were days of rain; heavy and persistent. Certainly today (my first day back at work after a two week break) has been mostly wet and dreary. 

Good to be back at the Unit, and doing one of the things which give me satisfaction. Because I have a purpose, and it is a purpose which gives meaning. 

The "Grand Round" was held today; over lunch. The presentation (by a senior registrar who will shortly come to the Unit) was just down the corridor in the Seminar Room, and it was also on ZOOM. I chose that because I Knew that I would end up muttering and possibly making unhelpful remarks after. 

He did a very good presentation on the place of psychedelics in the treatment of mental disorders. This has become a burgeoning field over the last ten to twenty years, and even now with all the excitement that there may be new treatments available, the studies remain largely case reports, descriptions, of experiences, and little to nothing in the way of proper controlled trials.

The other thing that bothers me is that what psychiatrists can do that few if any other groups can do (because of prescribing rules in most countries) is help the people with the most severe mental illnesses. I acknowledge that there are certainly times when the quality of such treatment leaves a lot to be desired for a number of reasons. What I would like to see is an improvement in the quality of that care rather than have psychiatrists seek a magical mystery tour, knowing that the target is not those with the most severe illnesses.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.