A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Berry Lovers

I look forward to the return of Cedar Waxwings to our local boat landing each spring. If I was forced to choose my favorite bird, like it was a matter of life or death, this would be the one. Shhhh, please don’t tell any of the others because I don’t ever want to choose • They breed here during late spring and early summer before departing for warmer temperatures. Another way to put it: they blow the joint when the berries are gone. I can’t say it any plainer than that, lol! We saw two yesterday for the first time gathering what appeared to be spider or moth webs for their nest. With rain coming later today a return visit was a must this morning. I was pleased to see this pair more interested in eating berries than building their nest. Aren’t they beautiful? • Now, you understand why we planted six winterberry bushes in our yard last year :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.