"Be Prepared"

I can't remember how old I was but I joined the Cubs (Junior Scout movement, now called 'Beavers' I believe) as soon as I was old enough. Always loved it and progressed to the Scouts until I was 16 and joined the RAF.
"Be Prepared" is, of course, the Scouting movement motto as created by Lord Robert Baden-Powell.

July 8th sees me riding up to Bishop Auckland, a ride of about 4.5 hours (with a refuelling stop) for the RBL Riders annual National Rally. There wasn't one in 2020 of course so everyone is looking forward to this event.
In preparation I had my camping gear out to check it out and "Be Prepared" in case there were any repairs etc. I sprayed the whole thing with 'Re-Proofer' to give it some additional waterproofing of the outer cover.
There is a whole new 'room' that fits inside this outer shell. First 'National' I went on I had a tiny tent but I found I couldn't move without getting cramp in my legs trying to get dressed. Ended up half naked jumping about outside trying to get rid of the cramp! I decided I needed some luxury and, with this tent, I can almost stand upright, and there's room for my camp chair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.