A skylark ascending on Minchinhampton Common

I didn't have long to spare as we were expecting guests to arrive at teatime, but as I drove over the common to get some supplies I couldn't resist a sneak peep at the skylarks. I parked at my usual spot near Tom Long's Post, and within a couple of minutes I'd heard several skylarks singing beautifully above me in the increasingly cloudy sky.

I focused on one several hundred feet above me, and as it changed its tune indicating to me that it was returning to the ground I watched its descent carefully. After seeing its approximate landing position I quickly walked the fifty yards to that spot in the long grass.

I gradually approached and spotted where it was feeding amongst the herbs and grasses, then managed to follow its slow but steady trek through the undergrowth without disturbing it. Eventually I took a step too far and it obviously wanted a bit more space as it flew about thirty yards away before landing on similar terrain to carry on its feeding. 

I'm pleased that I caught this view as it took off, so I can add it to my poor attempts at emulating in vision the beautiful music of Vaughan Williams 'The Lark Ascending' as originally played by violinist Hugh Bean.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.