Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Red Canoe

I often find that people wearing red in the distance detract from my photos.  But in this case the red canoe colour matched the poppies.  

I went last week when they were in their early stages, and hoped for more dense poppies this week.  But in fact they were looking 'thinner' because lots of tall grass is growing through them.  But I found a 'new' poppy field which overlooks Crantock beach - last week's photo overlooked the sea at Polly Joke - the opposite side.  the poppies do seem to occupy slightly different areas each year.

There were too many people today trampling over the poppies to get photos of their children and dogs.  Lots of notices explain about ground nesting skylarks and that walking over the poppies means they are unlikely to grow again in that space nest year.  There are plenty of easy paths around the fields. It spoils it for me going there and having to see selfish people flattening the flowers.  I went later, hoping it would be less busy.  But only this field was quiet - not many people have found it yet!  I have to go back tomorrow to show a friend who's never been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.