Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Angry Lady

I went back to the poppy fields today and was waiting to meet up with my friend  (we still don't do car-sharing) in an area where there were less poppies but other smaller wildflowers. There were notices asking people to keep to the paths and not trample the flowers.  While I waited I got talking to an older man with a dog and we were moaning about the number of people who DO trample the flowers just to photograph themselves, their children and/or dogs.  Two women and two children promptly arrived and walked into the flowers!  One of the children started reading aloud from the notice.  The man with the dog asked the  two women if they had read the notice.  The one on the right in the photo just started swearing and telling us to go away, though she used different words beginning with F and O!

He and I argued with them, fruitlessly, about the damage they were doing to the flowers, but the man told me he was giving up.  As he started to walk away I asked the woman if she wanted to be on Facebook.  She said 'go for it' but as I raised my phone she lunged towards me and seemed to be about to grab my phone.  The man who had walked away came racing back in my defence and the woman backed away from me and faced up to him.  'Go on on then, try me!' she said to the man, as if she wanted a fight!  He withdrew, saying she wasn't worth it, and we walked away .  Luckily my friend appeared as we went, but the man said he would stay with us for a little while until we were out of sight of the angry lady,  which was kind of him.

I DID try and put her on facebook but the Admin of the Facebook site nearest the poppy fields rejected my post, and I can't find out why!   Mrs Angry HAD given her permission to be put on facebook, and I had hoped that it might deter others from doing it. If they thought they might be photographed and displayed on Facebook perhaps they wouldn't do it. It's always upsetting seeing the flowers get trampled.

I only had time to take the one photo, and not time to zoom in on her, but if you zoom in, the expression on her face is so ANGRY!  You might also just be able to see one of the children low down in the flowers on her right. Both children heard a lot of swearing during this encounter.

It always spoils the poppy fields for me, seeing how many selfish inconsiderate people will walk over the flowers just to get a selfie.  Why do they think they are more important than anything else?  Today we saw a lady with a beautiful dog posing in the middle of the flowers -  I didn't have the energy to get into another battle over flower trampling -she even grabbed a passer-by and handed her mobile to the passer-by to have her photo taken with her dog, with the poppies all around her.  'What about touching the phone and Covid?' I thought.  

Rant over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.