Handover

I think Adda got it right when he said that if we are to go for cycling at all, we should start at 4:30 AM. Yes, it did seem rather absurd to me. But we are now slaves of the Hyderabad weather.

We observed as the day unfolded. The sun at sunrise was like a pale red ball trying to climb above some grey clouds. It hardly made its presence felt. The poor light dissuaded me from picking up the camera. And by the time it was about 8 AM, when we returned from a 50 km cycling ride, the sun was blaring. How weird is that. The summers here are like a curse. We were sweating when it was barely 5:30 AM the the sun still invisible.

The large Hussainsagar lake is one of the famous landmarks of Hyderabad. And despite the large number of cyclists, morning walkers, runners, etc the lake stinks. I suppose the cleaning operation is rather expensive, but it has to be done. It is high time now. Very soon (if not already) the lake will drive people away.

Caught a group of kids on roller blades on a part of the road that was closed down specifically for them. It was interesting to watch them go. But again, when we reached the point where the parents were sitting(surrounded by all the designer gear bags), I could only see grim faces. Things seemed perfunctory. I rode slowly, trying to see as much as I could. But I wasn't able to spot enough happy faces.

Anyway, that's just how these cities tend to be I guess. The last leg of the ride, all uphill was rather tough. But it is a great way to start the day. The shower after the ride feels wonderful.

Alternate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.