WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Local colour

There was a bit of a hiatus in my mystery book deliveries, as they sent me Hamnet and I returned it because I've already read it. So I had no deliveries for quite a while until yesterday, when two bright parcels with my May and June selections arrived in the postbox. Quite a contrast in covers! Both stories set in exotic locations though.

I wasn't blown away by the first two books I received, but I did enjoy them, and it's still exciting opening the packages, wondering what I'll find. They are certainly good at picking obscure books; I hadn't heard of any of them apart from the Mermaid one. I've decided to start with the one set in Cuba. Incidentally, it’s good to see the translator get billing on the cover, but perhaps it’s because it won a translation award.

It's been hot and steamy again, but this afternoon it clouded over and the temperature has dropped by a good 10 degrees compared to yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.