The Shape of a Doughnut*

If I could curl myself into the shape of a doughnut I might be tempted today. We are in the second day of a heatwave and the thermometer reads 103F as I write. As we used to say in California, 'but it's a dry heat' which certainly makes the high temperature easier to bear but is not reassuring in terms of fire danger. 

I have always rather liked hot weather as I have the luxury of going inside. When I was a child we would repair to the back porch (screened) and later the back garden when the porch was remodeled to become my bedroom. We would often eat dinner outside and sit out there until it cooled off enough to go inside and go to bed. I think that must be where I got my fondness for eating al fresco.

That is not to be tonight for it is still too hot, but there is good news on the umbrella front. We went for a drink at the neighbors' and who should we find there but David, our contractor friend who is currently redoing Dana and Jim's bathroom. We explained our need for someone with a hammer drill who could install our umbrella stand, and he came over last night and did it. They will come on Monday to assemble and install the umbrella and I will insist that they take away the giant box. My theory is that someone put the umbrella on the wrong truck.

I have recovered enough from my towering rage at John for 'forgetting' to call me when he left the doctor's office to find out that the fracture is 'filling in' but still not closed. The doctor said that for every decade of age it takes a month for total healing and the swelling to go down. Since he is doing pretty much whatever he wants without causing any damage, he seems pretty comfortable with the diagnosis. I let Kathy take on the job today of explaining (yet again) why focused exercise so so important. My voice is as the gentle wind blowing my words away....We went there early today to beat the heat and decided to keep the earlier hour.

My only accomplishment today was to finish putting the waistband on my dress redesigned as a skirt. Instead of using any of the ten yards of folding ribbon, I also repurposed the neckband. I think I'm a bit long in the tooth for the corset top when it was a dress. 

*Spike is not buying my explanation that it's too hot to run around on the blazing  concrete after his ball....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.