Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Soggy flowers

Oh my goodness did it rain today! There was such a heavy rain first thing this morning that Xena of course would not go outside, instead she hung around with her legs crossed waiting for a break in the rain. It eventually calmed down a little but when the gardeners came they could not do much and they certainly could not cut the grass which badly needs mowing. After a week of such hot weather we do need the rain but it was so heavy that it has knocked off the petals of the roses and poppies, which is not good.

The traffic in the village was heavy as one of the main roads is closed for roadworks so all the traffic is diverted along one route, so it took me forever to get to Waitrose to get some groceries. Plus there was hardly any parking there as on a wet day everyone wants to park there as it has under cover parking, including non Waitrose customers - who then complain when they get a fine. 

I am very pleased that Tommy booked his Covid vaccine today and will be having it next week, I will be relieved when my whole family is vaccinated. Besides it seems that many places are insisting on people being vaccinated (certain workplaces, clubs, etc) and there is the suggestion that fully vaccinated people should not have to quarantine after visiting an amber country which sounds sensible to me.

This is the one and only photo I took today - I stepped out the front door and took this while under cover from the porch as it was still raining! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.