Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Abstract portrait

What a wet morning! After such a dry April and May, we are certainly getting our fair share of rain in June. It was so wet that Gavin's golf game with a colleague which was due to be played late this afternoon was cancelled, as the golf course management said it was too wet. I went to get some groceries but luckily the queue was short and it was fortunately in the area that is undercover.

A wet day meant a day at the computer - working on this fractal mirror effect image. I started off working on a portrait that was not directly square to the camera and soon realised it needs to be directly face on and not at an angle, so Meriel stepped in and let me take a photo of her. I followed a technique on Youtube but I had to repeat it about 5 times as I found not all the steps worked as they should have - anyway here is the finished result which may work for Abstract Thursday with the theme of blur, as the under layer is blurred and then added as a reflection. It was rather complicated and my image is not nearly as good as the example on Youtube but then in my experience they never are.

I also spent much time moving photo files around on my desktop computer and reorganising all my folders, so boring but it needs to be done from time to time.

Adam stayed up the whole night working on a paper for his research, only going to sleep at 5.30am. Nothing unusual there as he always works very peculiar hours. Maybe his chosen career as a scientist suits his work patterns!

It has finally stopped raining and there is even a bit of sunshine, so I am going to take Xena for another walk before I start thinking about preparing dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.