Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

collecting firewood....

Late afternoon I went for a walk with a friend.  We came upon these two young boys with big bundles of firewood!  I asked them if I could take a photo and they agreed!  I asked if they went to school and thought maybe they were just collecting wood today because schools were closed!  The small one is in grade 2 and the taller one says he does not go to school because he has no school fees!  He says he has not been to school for a very long time - he can't remember how long!

This made me so sad...to think that many of our children don't even have a chance to go to school even if they want to...and all because of school fees!  Today I was working on our Child Safeguarding policy training manual and one of the rights of a child is the right to education.  This is all fine and good if you fit the criteria!  

How I would love to help all these children who struggle to meet their basic needs!  In Zambia we are meant to have free primary education but its not free - you need a uniform and there are many things you have to pay for!  Its a hard life for many!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.