SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Dad didn't play golf today...

Saturday, visit Mum.  Dad's not normally home.  Wet and windy - he was up for a game, but 2 of the partnership of 4 decided to give it a miss.  Instead he stayed at home and fixed their broken "chariot" (mobility scooter).  No shortage of physical and mental capacity there - I hope I'm the same at 92!

I was taking a photo of ornaments and photos on the book shelf (which Dad built in the 70's).  His mother, who died at 92, is the closest one.

Apparently I was the last person to see her alive (about 20 years ago, just after I met my current partner "much more suitable this one!" Phew!).  She was incoherent before see died - I held her hand and tried to talking to her to comfort her.  The room she was in wasn't bad but it was still not familiar surrounding so I was trying to remind her of things she'd had in her life (not that we were really close) but I remember talking to her about the smell of freshly mown grass and she reacted quite strongly to that.  To this day I have no idea if she was thanking me or telling me to "bugger off" (a term she would have easily used).  Not that it matters, I know she loved me and I loved her, the best that we could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.