Whelm

I stayed over at my sister’s so I could spend time with this adorable thing. She really looks like my memories of my sister as a baby. We joined the parents for breakfast out. FYI, vegan fry-ups and focaccia toast are cheaper in Stoke than in Cambridge.

The weather was warm and stuffy and the country is gearing up for Euro 2020 (21?). I haven’t followed football for years but with a TV screen visible from a chair positioned in the sun just outside my sister’s bifold doors, I can be tempted to indulge.

The England match was, of course, fairly underwhelming. As usual, the commentators had to fill up a broadcasting slot with post-match analysis, trying to argue to themselves that a non-event of a performance was a clear sign that the trophy is ‘coming home.’ Does absolutely everything have to drip with so much partisanship?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.