Admitting defeat

Well after yesterday's running disappointment, today seemed to be even worse. I somehow managed to hurt/pull a muscles in my lower back this morning. It's a good job I was working from home today; I could barely move this morning.

It's eased somewhat during the day. Tonight I had to see a man at the commonwealth pool about a free 7 day fitness pass, so I walked there and back. I think it's really helped and fingers crossed it'll be better tomorrow and I can fit a wee run in.

Honestly it feels like my body is totally giving up on me! I think it's probably just telling me that I need to take things a bit easier.

So with that in mind I have decided to withdraw from the Mighty Deerstalker on Saturday. A forest trail 10k (and a bit more they say) in the dark with mud pits probably wasn't the best thing to schedule 4 weeks before my marathon anyway. It seems even stupider to do it now.

The nice people at Rat Race (the organisers) were very understanding and have allowed me to transfer my entry to next year's adventure race. So this not so expertly blended photo is as close as I'll get to it this year. For the Deerstalker, they ask you to wear something tweed. This is the tweed I was going to wear - it'll keep for next year!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.