Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Drunch Stop!

We coined a new word today......."Drunch"- it's when you stop for lunch and launch the Drone to see what's around!!  We drove out to White Cliffs first thing this morning.  I wanted to revisit the town after having ridden from Broken Hill to White Cliffs in 2002 on my mountain bike.  It was a fund raiser for the Royal Flying Doctor Service.  I was so disappointed to see the state of White Cliffs today.  It was like a ghost town and had lost all of the vibrancy I remember from my visit 19 years ago.  We turned and headed back to the main highway and ended up at Cobar tonight.  We stopped for our first "Drunch Stop" at a rest area along the highway.  

Thanks to my blip buddy gemaxphoto I was finally able to adjust the camera settings and this image shows just how red the red dirt is out west!!    

We're actually free camping tonight.  It's a very quiet area and we just wanted somewhere safe for a few hours before we head to Orange tomorrow.  We're steaming home now and should be back in Blackheath sometime on Tuesday.

By the way, for those blip buddies who have enjoyed following our tracking app for the past few weeks, you may have found us sitting at Coober Pedy for about three days.  I adjusted the date range in the main web page on Friday so you should be able to see us real time again now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.