Marsh Dweller

In search of a new place to walk I headed to Swanscombe and onto the peninsular jutting out into the River Thames (extra) with views of the QE2 bridge.  This area is an industrial brownfield site which included cement and sewerage works, some of which still operate on the edge of the site. There are plans to build a Theme Park here, but they are currently thwarted by the site being designated an SSSI (site of special scientific interest) as nature returns to the marshlands, including a rare and endangered spider.

I enjoyed my walk and spotted orchids, cuckoo, little egret and herons, the latter three unfortunately out of reach of my camera lens. There were many wild flowers too, and I liked this bee having a good dig into the flowers of Vetch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.