misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Stormin' & Floodin'

Wild weather over here today... and yesterday, too.
Spring's receded into the background for a while, it seems.
The cornfield across the street had been covered by winter snow until the flooding began. Common problem for that field because it is right on the river bank.

Jolly elves started finally painting the bathroom walls and ceiling today. I went to my neighbour's for a shower and to do what I hope is a final load of laundry... and to chat about plant orders & everything.
I got home a few hours later. Elf #2 asked me, "Is the bathroom supposed to be pink?"
"Pink?" I shouted and turned around to slug him upon seeing the shell pink (Alabaster Peach) walls.
"Well, no, Elf," I calmly replied. "As I told Elf #1 this morning before leaving that the bathroom colour is Victorian Linen in semi-gloss."
One habit these elves share is blaming and finding fault about everything. #2 blamed #1 who was sitting out in his truck on his cellphone and couldn't defend himself. Number #1 upon reflection excused himself because he says he is colour blind. I gently suggested reading the label...
Around the time of their mutual angst while I blipped in another room, a good friend dropped by to share a small plate of cookies she wanted me to taste that were based on a strawberry frosting recipe she and I screwed up struggled with the week previous. This was the left over frosting from Elf #2's birthday cupcakes. It simply never thickened.
Today, being the beginning of WEEK SIX of the Nighmare Bathroom and Doorway Renovation, I decided that I would bake us cookies to celebrate. That was until...*sigh* they had screwed up[ slathered the nearly pale strawberry shade on the bathroom walls. Jarring to behold, I can assure you. I declared it: 'No Cookies for Bad Elves Day'!!
But, one taste of the friend's timely delivery of the gently strawberry flavored cookie led me to relent. Both #1 and #2 try hard for perfection so this error pained them far more than it did me. And, of course, they had quickly shut themselves in the bathroom to paint the Victorian Linen over the pale pink. Perfect shade now and all was well before they left for the day-- a half day added to their ultimate departure date *Sigh and Ugh!*
On their way out at the end of work, I asked if they wanted a cookie. Have you ever noticed how much elves are like young boys? Oh, yes. they politely grabbed took just one each. As we said our goodbyes I handed the whole plate to them. Smiles all around.

See you tomorrow dear elves...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.