Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A bit of an emergency blip today

The weather has been abysmal and I'm not in the right frame of mind to find interesting or beautiful things. Neither am I in the right frame of mind to ride a bicycle, so my lovely boss is picking me up and running me into the office and bringing me home again. Not that my output is up to its usual standard.

But I have been keeping myself busy by looking up people who were friendly twenty-plus years ago when he lived under my roof, which can take quite some detective work for a Facebook refuser. I ask them to get in touch with me, and when they do I tell them as softly as I can what has happened, allow time for the shock-waves to stop crashing and then I ask them to please add a kind note for the children to find later. So much more helpful than the “sorry for your loss” stuff that adults write to adults.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.