JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 172: Orchard Foxgloves

It rained heavily all day until about half past six, when it slowed to fine drizzle and I went outside to check if anything in the greenhouse needed watering and see what I could photograph without going further than the deck. P saw me with the camera and asked if I had seen the foxgloves in the orchard. I moaned a bit about it being too wet, but because he was verging on reproachful, I put on my wellies and waded through the long grass. It was worth the wet knees for this beautiful group of delicately coloured flowers which have sprung up from nowhere beside the new fence (the one which should prevent further sheep incursions). It was rather windy for photographing waving flowers in poor light, they are too close to the rather unattractive fence to blur or hide it, and I wasn't quick enough to catch the solitary bee in focus, but I've always loved foxgloves and these are such beautiful colours. There are also a couple of the more usual deeper pink ones a little further along. I hope they will all seed profusely.

I have finally got round to membership, so can post extras. I'm about to add one to yesterday's seaside post too, which may now get a little lost because I didn't manage to upload it till lunchtime today, so if you have a minute you may like to look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.