Keeping watch

There was a loud thud on the dining room window. Furbie  (and I ) rushed to see what had happened.

As usual, a bird had flown into the glass and was sitting, trembling and a bit stunned, just outside. 

Furbie sat patiently and watched as the unfortunate fledgling gradually came round.  Taking his time, he managed to fly away.

Before the pandemic, I used to enjoy shopping. During the pandemic, I certainly didn’t miss it.  

A couple of months ago a new Designer Outlet complex opened nearby. In the past I’ve driven miles to Bicester or Mansfield and enjoyed browsing and bargains. I didn’t fancy it at all while I was wimpy and it was crowded (as you could see on Midlands Today). 

This morning I decided to check it out. It’s glossy and modelled on the flashy malls of the Middle East (only smaller). It wasn’t welcoming. Staff policed the entrances and said you had to put things you’d tried on or handled in a special place. You couldn’t see the silly prices without touching the stuff ! Most of the shops were designer brands.

Silliest of all was Yankee Candles. We were all wearing masks and there is NO WAY you can smell the flavours wearing a mask. 

It was no fun. It was nearly empty. I didn’t stay very long. 

Extra: the water feature was popular with the little ones. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.