And the answer is cake……

……..Whatever the question.

I decided to go to The Dorothy Clive Garden, near Market Drayton. Traffic, well the M6, was so bad that I came off and queued on the A34.

Listening to Radio 5, I caught a really contentious and even nasty, discussion about the rail strike. 

Just before I’d set off I’d watched episode four of “Sherwood” recorded last night. It’s one of the most disturbing and brilliant dramas and, reflecting on the 1984 miners strike, it really struck a few chords. 

We do live in worrying times, conflicting views (not in itself unhealthy), extreme feelings, a general sense that things are broken……not to forget the cost of living and war in Europe……

My first stop after I arrived was in the tea shop, and I sampled their toffee cake.

I say I go to these gardens for inspiration, and it’s usually growing advice or plants. Today I’ve pinched the recipe.

Extra. A speckled wood. There were four of these in the woodland area. Where are all our other usual  varieties? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.