Stepping Out

I stopped off at Box Hill on my way home from Mum's, and did the circluar Stepping Stones walk which is around a 2.5miles (4 km) and a climb of around 610ft (186m).  For a change I walked down the grassy slopes next to the zig-zag road and up the 275 steps ... I'm not sure if, for me, that is an easier option. 

There was a bit of a surprise at the bottom by the stepping stones as the rather lovely tree on the corner had sadly come down, having literally snapped just above its base and partially blocking access on or off the stones (extra). I think it must have happened in the last day or so.  One man and his dog did manage to navigate round the blockage, but a group of teenage walkers were led away to the bridge a little further downstream by their adult leader.  I have yet to pluck up the courage to cross by the stones, so my routewas uneffected!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.