A day in the life

By Shelling

Ready in time

Strawberries, a big thing on this island. I remember when I was a kid, the strawberries was at its best ready for midsummer, now they've been on sale for the last three weeks.

Along my walk I pass this field of newly planted strawberry plants, 300 by 150 metres, on the other side of the road theres another one, slightly bigger, planted two years ago. Towards the end of July the market starts to fade here. You can buy them everywhere and they are delicious. Sometimes I find some in the field with the wrong shape, or if they grow a little outside the row, then I usually eat them at once to prevent them from ending up on the open market. We all help each other here.

I wake up when I wake up these days, usually around half past seven but the heat makes it unpredictable. I woke up today and had a slow breakfast and a nice cup of coffee on the veranda and then hoovered a little bit. When I looked at the clock it was only half past seven. I must have been up before six or something. I feel it's time for bed now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.