stujphoto

By stujphoto

Water Droplet

My fascination with water droplets continues unabated and I chose this one because I like the way the reflection balances the actual plume and droplet. My set-up continues to improve as I now have a black roasting tin which is much better than the glass casserole dish with black velvet material underneath. However you can still see some grain in the metal coating which is not apparent to the naked eye so I will have to spray paint the tin matt black to remove this.

I felt much more in control in this last session getting some sort of result most times, probably due to better co-ordination between my left hand which is squeezing the bulb of the pipette to create the droplets and my right hand which is pressing the remote for two or three bursts of flash. The EOS 7D on high speed continuous drive allows me to shoot high speed bursts of of flash usually about three before the power dries up. It does meant that I end up with masses of totally black images where the flash is not firing but these are easily culled when I am downloading my images on to the computer.

For those of you who are interested in pursuing water droplet photography, the site that I am using for guidance is by Corrie White and can be found on this link WATER DROPLET GUIDE . It is worth following through the lengthy blag as there is oodles of extra guidance in it. He really is so helpful. I'm still dreaming of getting a Time Machine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.