stujphoto

By stujphoto

Winter Landscape

Friday morning is fast becoming one of my favourite times of the week. My wife takes the dogs a walk with her friend and then goes for lunch. I go for a swim at a reasonable hour (10.00am) and the pool is free of lanes but relatively quiet at that time and I usually come out feeling refreshed and relaxed. I have started to use the remainder of the morning as a chance to explore the countryside looking photo opportunities.

This morning I was in the foothills of the Lammermuirs around Spott looking for my favourite prey at the moment - winter trees. There are a lot of nice ones around but often they make poor photo subjects because from the roadside their base is tangled up in hedgerow. However, I did find one or two more isolated specimens, one of which I have blipped before. I worry less about bland skies now as I know if I convert to monochrome and go into Nik SilverEfex Pro I will, at least, be able to bring out some detail.

My choice for my blip is a location where I had to go into a field to get my unobstructed view but I quite like the way the gateway takes you into the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.