An Expensive Day (widwed230621)

Anyone who follows my journal will know something I love would be footering - particularly with bicycles*.  Our grandson James has just reached the maximum line on the seat pin of his existing bike so when the opportunity came to buy this one for a bargain price I jumped in.

You might also know that I converted Gill's tourer to electric a while ago and she has found it to be a success. However, recently she is finding the flexibility in her hip joints makes leaning a heavy(ish) bike over so she can get on is becoming an issue.  So,  she has been researching eBikes and identified the Specialized Vado step through as a good candidate, and went for a test ride this morning. 

She really liked the bike and while she was out riding I asked if I could have a look at the Islabike they had in their trade ins line up - a bit biffed about but nothing I can't sort out so I decided to buy it.

Gill returned extolling the virtues of her soon to be new bike, and asking for the saddle to be raised up a little.  The salesman, clearly a quick off the mark sort of a chap asked me if I would like to try one too.  They had one in my size ... and I'm sure you can guess what is coming next ...

We will on Friday, be the owners of two new eBikes.  I did have the sense to ask if there was any price flexibility if we bought all three, and was delighted to find we could have the Islabike for free - I would have been happy with some mudguards and a rack for Gill's so I think that counts as a win-win!  

Three hours of cleaning and polishing later, the Islabike looks pretty good.  A few minor bits to replace and I suppose James will want some proper off road tyres, but they can be for his birthday in September.
He recently announced that when he grows up he wants to be like Danny MacAskill So his next bike might cost a lot more than just my time and effort :-)

So - James has the cheapest bike he is ever likely to ride and we have two eBikes to take on our motorhome trips. 

* for the avoidance of doubt, I love Gill too but I can hardly use a photo of her for a Wide Wednesday blip now can I!

Other pre-loved and footered bikes:

Its not about the bike
Running to keep up
Birthday Boy
The Pink Bike



Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday on the theme of Something I Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.