I LOVE my allotment

Spent an hour on the plot this morning, bagged up some bark chippings to scatter on one of the footpaths on the edge of the heath. It's brown chemically looking water that comes from I don't know where BUT we have to walk through it on one of our walks & Indie's feet always need washing when we get back home. Grabbed some bits from the Coop for Mum, dropped off a carrier bag of rainbow chard to the Chudleigh Community Fridge, posted a message on Spotted Chudleigh, informing folks that it was there, then shot out to the heath, scattered the chippings, cut another bundle of pea sticks, squeezed them in the back of the car - just.
Opened the bottle of bleach for Mum, she has a problem gripping the bottle top & twisting it. Child safety :-) Indie & I then had a lovely walk in the sunshine, did'nt see a soul. Perfect! The orchids look beautiful, the heath colouring up now with the heather. So lucky to have this on our doorstep. No dipper sightings on the river Bovey,  we walked back across the heath & onto the mucky path. It needs more chippings. The wild flowers growing on the grass verge entering the village are so varied. I need to walk without Indie, photograph the plants, & identify them out of curiosity. I might just do that in the next couple of days. Back to Mum's, a quick coffee as I wanted to garden on the plot .. next thing I know I'm pruning Mum's hedge .. plan B.  Mum has completed the 1000 piece jigsaw. Whoop whoop!! BUT she has a problem closing the spare bedroom door. So after inspecting the jigsaw puzzle we had a training session. The third attempt was a success. Will test her again on Saturday. LOL!!
Back to Chudleigh, grabbed the next batch of peas, purple sprouting broccoli, garden waste, sun hat, sunscreen, & lunch then I was allotment bound. It was just gone 1pm so sat and enjoyed lunch before the fun began. I LOVE being up on the plot, I enjoy the growing, harvesting & eating the produce. I LOVE the peace & quiet early mornings, just birdsong. My I LOVE flip flop, one of my beach walk finds from my time in Thailand making another appearance. Bobby robin & his missus arrived for their snack. I keep a slice of bread in a tub & have a jar of Summer bird seed mix with sunflower hearts in the shed, they had a little of both. It's HOT. I turned the ground, planted the peas, followed by the pea sticks, a few bits left over. Next remove the chicken mesh fence from around the sweetcorn, and erect around the peas .. A bit of a job on my own but got there in the end. Hubby arrived bearing a letter for me from Rowcroft Hospice. He told me he felt very proud of me .. :-D I'll take that! Then I overheard him telling my allotment neighbour who just happens to be our landlord about the letter.  Dave came over from his plot, we discussed the damage the pheasants are doing to our crops, he mentioned that they had eaten the young growth in Julie's sweetcorn plants. I think mine are safe, but they are so strong & healthy I would hate to lose them so them had to construct some temporary defenses until tomorrow. Fingers crossed it is effective. I bagged up 3 more sacks of chippings and loaded them in the car. 5.15pm ... It's definitely cider time. Working in the afternoon sun is not as productive as cool early mornings.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.