It may not appear to be small

but it was the smallest piece of metal I could spy at Oldway Mansion today. The building is gradually crumbling, which is very sad as it has a very grand exterior, the interior has some amazing features too, the grand sweeping marble staircase what I remember most. It belongs to Torbay Council, & was the registry office for the South Hams area, until they moved out in 2013. Hubby & I were witnesses at our next door neighbours wedding back in the mid 80's. It was April, the flower beds full of colourful tulips. More recently Mum & I registered my Dad's death there.  The mansion was built for Isaac Singer, the family that made their wealth from sewing machines. Now a band of volunteers look after the gardens while the council faff around. Such a shame to lose such a grand property. The door handle, with lovely turquoise verdigris is on the ground floor, one of a pair of french windows opening into the ballroom which I blipped last year.

I had a lovely SDed catch up with my MOT pals in the grounds of Oldway . Sandy goes back to work at Paignton Zoo tomorrow, changes afoot, jobs have gone due to Living Coast not reopening after Covid19, Sandy & her colleagues have put forward a proposal to cut 3 full time retail supervisors jobs to 2. Now they have to wait to find out if their solution is acceptable.
A trip to the allotment first thing to check on my Japanese squash ... water & feed the courgette & tomato plants. All looking very happy & healthy.

Thanks to trisharooni for hosting Tiny Tuesday - Metal

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.